Artistic License

I’d like to own a tablet so I can buy digital sketchbooks from my favorite artists. That’s it. Well, that’s my main reason anyway. Many artist sell their books online for reasonable prices through sites like Gumroad. Some even release rough concepts of original works like webcomics and personal projects. Now.

I don’t own a tablet yet, Until then, I’ll build my collection with physical copies of ones I plan to own in the near future.

1.

loish

The Art of Loish

A behind the scenes look at freelance animator and illustrator Lois van Baarle’s early work and her inspiration. Her work has been featured in Beautiful Bizarre Magazine and you may have seen her concept art of Aloy, the lead character of the game, Horizon: Zero Dawn. While not present in the book (those are more recent projects), it does contain 152 pages of exclusive material and tutorials for digital artists. While not a digital artist myself, I can’t pass up this book as a long time fan.

2.

mushii

Mushishi Art Collection

An art book dedicated to the work of Yuki Urushibara’s manga and anime, Mushi-Shi. The 192 page book includes early concept sketches and color illustrations of the supernatural series. Official Mushi-Shi merchandise is a little tricky to come by unless you search through Ebay or happen to find some in the wild. Out of all the books on this list, I’m certain this will be one of the hardest for me to come by.

3.

p5

The Art of Persona 5

Game visuals? Initial character concepts? Original drafts? Magazine covers and posters? I’m sold. Originally scheduled for a December release, the official date was set for late June of this year. I thought this was the book included in the Take Your Heart Edition and could be bought separately from the game. Glad I didn’t make that call. Now I can flip through the Persona 5: The Aesthetics art book before this 600 page beauty hits stores.

4.

kikii

The Art of Kiki’s Delivery Service

Everyone has a favorite Ghibli movie. For me, it’s Kiki’s Delivery Service. What better way to show my love for Kiki than with beautiful illustrations. The hard-bound book offers fans a glimpse of director Hayao Miyazaki’s creative process for the beloved film.

5.

dreamworks

The Art of Dreamworks Animation

With films such as The Road to El Dorado, How to Train Your Dragon, Kung Fu Panda and Madagascar, DreamWorks boast an impressive roster. Brimming with production designs and concept art, the world-renowned animation studio offers a look into its archives from the past 20 years.

Are there any books you’re looking forward to or missed out on and would like to own? Let me know so we can build our collection together!

Leave a Reply

